EV charger installation cost

As of October 3, 2026, the published sources we read put the typical cost of installing a home Level 2 charger at $1,098 to $1,354 for the installation work alone (Idaho National Laboratory 2022 median $1,098, Avista 2019 average $1,316, and Idaho National Laboratory 2015 average $1,354), and $1,400 to $1,766 with the charger included (ICCT 2019 average $1,400 and Avista 2019 average $1,766); Qmerit (2026) gives $1,810 without saying whether the charger is in it.

Each figure below is printed in the dollars of the year it was published, not adjusted for inflation, and each comes from one source: a study that costs the installation without the charger is never added to a charger price from somewhere else. The widest range any source publishes for a single job is $150 to $18,000, from Idaho National Laboratory (2022), for installation only, charger not included.

Every source and what its figure covers

SourceYearFigureLowTypicalHighWhat it covers
Idaho National Laboratory (U.S. DOE)2022Installation only, charger not included$150$1,098 (median, mean $1,310)$18,000Residential Level 2 installations in the SCA dataset (US, multiple states). Labor included, permit included, panel upgrade included.
Idaho National Laboratory (U.S. DOE), The EV Project2015Installation only, charger not includedNot published$1,354 (mean)$8,000 (stated as 'over $8,000')Residential Level 2, EV Project regions (US). Labor included, permit not stated, panel upgrade included.
International Council on Clean Transportation2019Charger and installation$650$1,400 (study average, detached house)$2,423Detached house, Level 2 charger upgrade (new wiring and a charger); attached house and apartment figures in notes. Charger included; labor included, permit included, panel upgrade included. Low and high: range of the underlying studies.
International Council on Clean Transportation2019240 V outlet only, no charger (detached house)Not published$680Not publishedNew wiring and a 240 V outlet, with no charger, for a detached house.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (now National Laboratory of the Rockies), U.S. DOE2023Charger hardware only$400Not published$1,200L2 residential, per port. The charger alone, no installation.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (now National Laboratory of the Rockies), U.S. DOE2023Installation only, charger not included$500Not published$1,700L2 residential, per port. Labor included, permit not included, panel upgrade not stated.
U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Centernot datedCharger hardware only$380Not published$690Residential Level 2. The charger alone, no installation.
U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Centernot datedInstallation only, charger not includedNot published$1,300 (approximately, per connector)Not publishedResidential Level 2. Labor not included, permit not included, panel upgrade not stated.
Rocky Mountain Institute2019Charger hardware only$380 (2.9 kW unit)Not published$689 (7.7 kW unit)Level 2 residential charger hardware only. The charger alone, no installation.
Avista Corp. (utility), report to the Washington UTC2019Charger and installationNot published$1,766 (average per port, non-networked, including the charger, Table 1; networked $2,445)Not publishedResidential AC Level 2, Avista Washington service territory. Charger included; labor included, permit included, panel upgrade included.
Avista Corp. (utility), report to the Washington UTC2019Installation only, charger not includedNot published$1,316 (average, not including the charger)Not publishedResidential AC Level 2, Avista Washington service territory. Labor included, permit included, panel upgrade included.
Qmerit (installer network)2026Installation, charger inclusion not statedNot published$1,810 (average)Not publishedLevel 2 home charger installation, Texas. Charger not stated; labor included, permit not included, panel upgrade not stated. CA page: $1,810.
California Energy Commission (state energy office)2019Permit fee$0Not published$400California residential Level 2 program; permit fees only.

Sources read October 3, 2026. "Not published" means the source gives no number for that column, so none is estimated. Years are publication years; the Alternative Fuels Data Center page carries no date.

What changes the cost

Cost drivers and the amounts each source states

DriverStated amountSourceIn the source's words
Distance from the electrical panel$12 to $18 per footIdaho National Laboratory (2022)For the average installation, the installation cost increases between $12 - $18 per foot distant from the power source.
Panel (service) upgrade$1,248 to $4,031 addedIdaho National Laboratory (2022)With the average installation cost of $1310, the upgrade cost ranged from $1,248 to $4,031.
Whole job when a panel upgrade was needed$2,558 to $5,341 total installationIdaho National Laboratory (2022)Six of the SCA installations required a service upgrade of the residential panel. The total installation costs for these varied from $2,558 to $5,341.
Permit fee$15 to $100 (Texas cities)Idaho National Laboratory (2022)There the permit fees ranged from $15 in North Richmond to $100 in Dallas.
Permit fee as a share of the job0.3 to 11.3 percent of total installation cost, average 3.5Idaho National Laboratory (2022)the permit fee ranged from 0.3% to 11.3% with the average of 3.5% of overall installation cost.
Power rating of the circuit$92 per kW above 4 kWIdaho National Laboratory (2022)Circuit costs increased approximately $92 per increase in kW rating above 4 kW
Local electrician ratesNo amount givenIdaho National Laboratory (2022)Installation costs are greatly dependent upon local electrician rates
Panel (service) upgradeNo amount givenIdaho National Laboratory (2015)driven up by expensive installations that required upgraded electrical service, which was often necessary in older homes.
Electrician wages and permit fees by regionNo amount givenIdaho National Laboratory (2015)Cost varied regionally based on electrician labor wages and permitting fees.
Wall and floor penetrations, circuit length, service upgradesNo amount givenICCT (2019)Higher costs for home charging upgrades generally correspond to a greater number of wall and floor penetrations, total circuit distance, or service upgrades.
Housing typeLevel 2 charger upgrade: detached $1,400, attached house $2,800, apartment $4,100ICCT (2019)Level 2 charger upgrade $1,400 $2,800 $4,100
Site, trenching, existing wiring, electrical upgrades, labor and permitsNo amount giventhe Alternative Fuels Data Center (not dated)Installation costs can vary significantly based on factors including the number and type of charging infrastructure, geographic location, site location and required trenching, existing wiring and required electrical upgrades to accommodate existing and future charging needs, labor costs, and permitting.
LaborNo amount giventhe Alternative Fuels Data Center (not dated)Data show that labor is the largest expense in a typical installation
Permitting costs over timeNo amount givenRocky Mountain Institute (2019)as overall residential installation costs in California fell from 1996 through 2012, costs associated with permitting grew, both in absolute terms and as a percentage of total installation costs
More extensive work$2,659 average total installation, against $1,197 for the other jobsAvista (2019)The data shows that 17 out of 226 installations with more extensive work averaged $2,659 total installation costs, compared to the average of $1,197 for all other installations
Panel (service) upgradeNo amount givenAvista (2019)Older homes with 100A to 125A service generally required panel upgrades
Permit fee$557 average, TexasQmerit (2026)Electrical Permit $557
Labor rates, charger power and panel ageNo amount givenQmerit (2026)Factors that can influence the overall price include: Labor costs in your area Your EV charger's power requirements Age & condition of your electrical panel
Permit fee$0 to $400, California jurisdictionsthe California Energy Commission (2019)Amounts varied by jurisdiction from $0 to $400.

Charger prices, kept separate

These are prices for the charger alone, from verified retailer offers checked October 5, 2026. They come from a different source and a different year than the installation figures above, so they are not added to them.

ChargerPriced modelsMedian pricePrice range
16 A9$170$109 to $314
24 A4$245$240 to $250
32 A23$399$169 to $930
40 A46$334$179 to $1,011
48 A47$679$199 to $3,904
80 A14$2,030$559 to $7,213
Tesla Wall Connector1$585$585

Each amp row covers every catalog model at that rating with a verified offer. None of the installation sources above is specific to one charger brand, the Tesla Wall Connector included.

What each source says

Prices and specifications verified October 5, 2026, and re-checked weekly after that. Installation figures from 9 published sources, read October 3, 2026. How these numbers are checked.

Installation cost questions

How much does it cost to install a Level 2 EV charger?
As of October 3, 2026, the published sources we read put the typical cost of installing a home Level 2 charger at $1,098 to $1,354 for the installation work alone (Idaho National Laboratory 2022 median $1,098, Avista 2019 average $1,316, and Idaho National Laboratory 2015 average $1,354), and $1,400 to $1,766 with the charger included (ICCT 2019 average $1,400 and Avista 2019 average $1,766); Qmerit (2026) gives $1,810 without saying whether the charger is in it. The widest range any source publishes for a single job is $150 to $18,000, from Idaho National Laboratory (2022), for installation only, charger not included.
Does a panel upgrade add to the installation cost?
Where one is needed, yes. The sources that put a figure on it: Idaho National Laboratory (2022), $1,248 to $4,031 added; Idaho National Laboratory (2022), $2,558 to $5,341 total installation; Avista (2019), $2,659 average total installation, against $1,197 for the other jobs.
Is the charger included in the installation price?
It depends on the source. Idaho National Laboratory (2022), Idaho National Laboratory (2015), NREL (2023), the Alternative Fuels Data Center (not dated), and Avista (2019) cost the installation without the charger. ICCT (2019) and Avista (2019) include the charger. Qmerit (2026) does not say. Separately, the 159 Level 2 chargers in our catalog with a verified price, checked October 5, 2026, have a median of $475 and range from $109 to $7,213; that figure comes from a different source and is not added to any installation figure.

Free guide: choosing a home EV charger

A practical worksheet covering amperage sizing, plug vs hardwired, smart features worth paying for, and the questions to ask your installer.